Dear colleagues and guests,

On the occasion of the 40th Annual German Congress on Acoustics (DAGA 2014) we have the honor and pleasure of cordially inviting you to Oldenburg .  The leitmotif of the congress will be “Hearing for all”: On the one hand, this reflects the concurrent timing of the DAGA, the largest German-language Congress on Acoustics, and the annual meeting of the German Society for Audiology (DGA). On the other hand, it takes up the motto of the Cluster of Excellence “Hearing4all” which was established in Oldenburg and Hanover in 2012.

The scope and structure of the Congress – actually an Anniversary Event! – will follow the established concept of all previous DAGA congresses: Latest research results and recent developments in acoustics will be highlighted and presented in plenary lectures, structured, open lecture and poster sessions, and an industry exhibition. A special emphasis will be put on poster presentations - by assigning extra time slots and by awarding a newly created poster prize.

Oldenburg has come to be known as “Hearing Town” in the “Auditory Valley” network area with a unique mixture of institutions covering research, education and development across all aspects of Hearing and Acoustics. As one of the first physics professors in Oldenburg, Volker Mellert continued the Göttingen  acoustics tradition starting in 1973 and chaired the DAGA-Congresses in 1986 and 2000 here in our city. The first DGA-Congress in 1998 was the foundation of the interdisciplinary connection between physics, acoustics, audiology and medicine: In Oldenburg, Germany's first school for the deaf was founded as well as the youngest medical faculty in 2012.

The DGA-Congress, taking place on the Wechloy campus on the 12th and 13th of March 2014, overlaps with the DAGA-Congress on the Haarentor campus – connected by 2 bus lines and the nature reserve area “Haaren-Lowland”, inviting you to stroll or take a bicycle ride between events.

We are looking forward to your visit!

Birger Kollmeier, Conference president
Matthias Blau, Conference chair
Steven van de Par, Conference chair